Huffines Institute - News

Texas A&M University brought home the GOLD at TACSM 2014!

Texas A&M University brought home the GOLD at TACSM 2014!

This past weekend, February 27-28, 2014, was the Texas Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine (TACSM) annual meeting held at the beautiful campus of Texas Christian University in Fort Worth, Texas. The Huffines Institute, as well as the Health and Kinesiology Department at Texas A&M are very proud of our faculty and student award winners.

Dr. Jim Fluckey, Huffines Institute Internal Advisory Board Chair, was voted as the new President-elect for TACSM for 2016.

Texas A&M University health and kinesiology undergraduates, Katherine Elmer, Megan Cole, And Liliana Ogden, are the 2014 TACSM Undergraduate Student Bowl Champions. They will be competing in the National Student Bowl Competition at the National ACSM Conference in Orlando, Florida in late May.

Health and Kinesiology doctoral students, Jeffrey Hord, Yang Lee, William Deaver, and Dustin Joubert were TACSM Student Research Development Awardees

Kinesiology undergraduate, Katherine Elmer was also the TACSM Outstanding Undergraduate Scholar, a TACSM Majors of the Year, and was the recipient for the TACSM Scholarship.

TACSM Student Poster Presentation Awards:

  • John Seawright (Doctoral Student Research)- 1st Place
  • Edwin Savio (Undergraduate Student Research)- 3rd Place

Again, congratulations to all of our Aggies this past weekend, way to represent Texas A&M University! Good luck to our undergraduate student bowl team at the National ACSM Conference! Bring home the GOLD!!!



Post a Comment




Ready to Get Our Mobile App For iOS / Android?